International Association of Maritime Economists

Three major North American maritime transportation, business education and research universities are working together to bring the 2014 IAME Annual Conference to North America – Dalhousie University, Old Dominion University and Texas A&M University at Galveston.

The IAME meeting has been held only once in the U.S. – in 1995 at MIT in Cambridge, Massachusetts. There can be little doubt that holding an IAME Annual Conference in the United States for the first time in almost 20 years is long overdue. Also, it is highly desirable to do so – given that the U.S. is one of the leading trading nations in the world with respect to its volume of international trade. Further, there are only a few U.S. IAME members, and having the 2014 IAME meeting in the U.S. will be a catalyst for a significant increase in U.S. IAME members.


The conference organizers comprise an alliance between the: Maritime Institute of Old Dominion University; Department of Business Administration, Texas A&M University; and Centre for International Trade and Transportation, Dalhousie University.

Maritime Institute, Old Dominion University (Local Host)

Since 1994, the Maritime Institute via the College of Business and Public Administration (CBPA) of Old Dominion University (ODU) has offered a 12 credit-hour Maritime, Ports and Logistics Management concentration in its Master of Business Administration (MBA). Old Dominion University is the only university in the United States to offer such a concentration in its MBA program. The same maritime course offerings are also available to students who seek a 12 credit-hour Maritime, Ports and Logistics Management Certificate. In fall 2006, the CBPA began offering its Maritime and Supply Chain Management (MSCM) major for a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. This major is one of two such undergraduate maritime management programs in the U.S.; the other is at Texas A&M University at Galveston. Presently, a Master of Science degree in Maritime Trade and Transport has been proposed; if approved, the degree will be offered at the beginning of the 2013 fall semester.

Department of Maritime Administration, Texas A&M University at Galveston

Texas A&M University at Galveston (TAMUG) is the coastal campus of Texas A&M University. TAMUG’s academic offerings are exclusively maritime in nature with graduate and undergraduate degrees in areas such as: marine and ocean engineering, maritime administration and logistics, marine biology and other marine sciences. TAMUG’s Department of Maritime Administration prepares graduates for administrative positions in the maritime industry and related governmental organizations. Over the past ten years, the Department has been involved in academic research sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation and the Texas Department of Transportation as well as local government agencies and private companies. The Department’s faculty are active in coordinating conferences, the most recent being the 2011 Maritime Education Summit.

The Centre for International Trade and Transportation, Dalhousie University

The Centre for International Trade and Transportation (CITT) exists to enrich the student experience at Dalhousie University by: facilitating exchanges and internships, arranging classes with an international component, offering scholarships and organizing conferences and symposiums. The Centre, originally created as the Centre for International Business Studies in 1975, is a vital part of the Faculty of Management. The Centre also supports research by faculty in fields ranging from international marketing and marine transportation to technology and trade. The Centre served as IAME Secretariat in its early foundational years, from 1994-1998. CITT serves as the virtual host for the Port Performance Research Network, a group of IAME researchers studying port governance and port performance issues. CITT is, like the Dalhousie Marine Affairs Program, housed in the Faculty of Management, winner of the 2011 European CEO Global Business Education Award.